Witchcraft in the Church- The Spirit of Divination

I put on hold the publishing of my dreams but as I recently have been feeling the urge to go back to sharing what I receive from the Lord, this one comes top of the list.

It was June 23, 2018, the most awaited day for the church because it was the “Freedom Conference Day” we’ve all been preparing for months. As an intercessor, I was one of the frontliners so to speak. Since the event was certainly going to be physically and spiritually intense, all I wanted the night before was to rest as we already had prayed and fasted for days. But it seemed that the spirit realm was already engaged that sleep was very elusive. Looking back, perhaps the reason my spirit was restless was because of what the Lord was about to show me in a dream.  

Around 6:00 in the morning, still not having felt falling asleep, I had a really troubling dream. In the dream I was looking at and listening to a woman, a prophetess whom everybody looks up to because of her accuracy and eloquence. But while she was speaking with her accurate prophetic words, I saw her face gradually distort and transformed into the face of a python. The voice also changed as the python continued to speak. This time all I could see was a large snake speaking in a deep and hallow voice. But I knew I was looking at a woman totally absorbed in the spirit of divination. I turned around and told everyone that the prophetess was not speaking by the Holy Spirit but by the spirit of divination. Sadly, they all dismissed what I said as they were convinced of her prophetic gift. Then I told them indignantly that the reason they could not see the snake in her was because they, each one of them, was keeping little pet monsters in their pockets. As I said that, I saw little monsters in people’s pockets. I woke up, realized I was a little late to go to the meeting place with some churchmates for the conference.

Since the dream was fresh and it was “Freedom (Deliverance) Conference Day,” I thought it was right to tell our pastor about it. I first took the dream as probably about someone in the main church, so I thought our pastor would somehow relay it to the head pastor, but his advice was to keep it among ourselves and just pray and intercede that the Lord would reveal it to them if that was the case. 

As I prayed about it, the Lord revealed to me that the dream is not about a particular prophetess in the church but the spirit of divination that has infiltrated and is operating in the Body of Christ through the prophetic ministry. This is a warning that not all prophetic voices are genuinely of the Holy Spirit, so it is highly important to be discerning.

What I have observed all these years is that the prophetic ministry has become like a fad; and some even sounded like fortune telling. Another thing, some prophetic people lack the understanding of the importance of holiness, denying oneself, taking up their cross and faithfully following Jesus. Their desire to have the gift of prophecy without the basics of holiness and humility and submission to the Lordship of Jesus Christ opened them up to the wrong kind of spirit. The unsuspecting sheep who, likewise, do not have the foundation of the Word and are not walking in step with the Spirit of God are vulnerable to being deceived by the spirit of divination. Unfortunately, this is the condition of the majority in the Church today.

I pray that the Lord will raise up intercessors in every church to counter this demonic spirit that has infiltrated the Body of Christ. I pray that the Lord will silence the spirit of divination disguising as a prophetic voice in the church misleading the flock, in the powerful name of the Lord Jesus Christ / Yeshua HaMashiach, amen.

Acts 16:16-18

16 Now it happened, as we went to prayer, that a certain slave girl possessed with a spirit of divination met us, who brought her masters much profit by fortune-telling. 17 This girl followed Paul and us, and cried out, saying, “These men are the servants of the Most High God, who proclaim to us the way of salvation.” 18 And this she did for many days.

But Paul, greatly annoyed, turned and said to the spirit, “I command you in the name of Jesus Christ to come out of her.” And he came out that very hour.

Acts 8:9-20

But there was a certain man called Simon, who previously practiced sorcery in the city and astonished the people of Samaria, claiming that he was someone great, 10 to whom they all gave heed, from the least to the greatest, saying, “This man is the great power of God.” 11 And they heeded him because he had astonished them with his sorceries for a long time. 12 But when they believed Philip as he preached the things concerning the kingdom of God and the name of Jesus Christ, both men and women were baptized. 13 Then Simon himself also believed; and when he was baptized he continued with Philip, and was amazed, seeing the miracles and signs which were done.

14 Now when the apostles who were at Jerusalem heard that Samaria had received the word of God, they sent Peter and John to them, 15 who, when they had come down, prayed for them that they might receive the Holy Spirit. 16 For as yet He had fallen upon none of them. They had only been baptized in the name of the Lord Jesus. 17 Then they laid hands on them, and they received the Holy Spirit.

18 And when Simon saw that through the laying on of the apostles’ hands the Holy Spirit was given, he offered them money, 19 saying, “Give me this power also, that anyone on whom I lay hands may receive the Holy Spirit.”

20 But Peter said to him, “Your money perish with you, because you thought that the gift of God could be purchased with money! 21 You have neither part nor portion in this matter, for your heart is not right in the sight of God. 22 Repent therefore of this your wickedness, and pray God if perhaps the thought of your heart may be forgiven you. 23 For I see that you are poisoned by bitterness and bound by iniquity.”

Love in Yeshua,

Cynthia

Leave a comment