From the Father’s Heart: Jerusalem, Jerusalem!

If you have read this post immediately as published or if you are reading this now, you may wonder how quickly I changed the title. Well, as I published and sent the notice to some, the Lord quickly corrected me. This is not about the song nor just about Jerusalem; but this is about His heart for Jerusalem. This is about Him. I must obey.

7-28

Isarel365

Isaiah 62:1

62 For Zion’s sake I will not hold My peace,
And for Jerusalem’s sake I will not rest,
Until her righteousness goes forth as brightness,
And her salvation as a lamp that burns.

The Lord speaks His heart in truly amazing ways. I am always in awe every time He reveals or shares something. I woke up around 2:30 a.m. today from hearing the song “Jerusalem Shel Zahav” or “Jerusalem of Gold” as performed by Ofra Haza. The last time I listened to the song was almost a year ago and never remembered it until I heard it in my spirit this morning.

The song kept ringing in my heart while I continued to lay quietly in bed. After some time of listening to it continually playing, I prayed for the peace of Jerusalem. Then the Lord spoke which I heard clearly in my spirit:

“O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, how often I long to gather your children as a hen gathers her chicks!” 

This, to me, speaks clearly how deeply the Lord loves Jerusalem. It speaks volumes of what is in His heart for His land and people. He has not and never will reject Israel as some Christians wrongly believe. His covenant with Abraham, Isaac and Jacob is an everlasting covenant. The following passages are just a few among many that show the steadfastness of God’s commitment, His everlasting covenant to Israel.

Psalms 137:5

If I forget you, O Jerusalem,
Let my right hand forget its skill!

Jeremiah 31:35-37

35 Thus says the Lord,
Who gives the sun for a light by day,
The ordinances of the moon and the stars for a light by night,
Who disturbs the sea,
And its waves roar
(The Lord of hosts is His name):

36 “If those ordinances depart
From before Me, says the Lord,
Then the seed of Israel shall also cease
From being a nation before Me forever.”

37 Thus says the Lord:

“If heaven above can be measured,
And the foundations of the earth searched out beneath,
I will also cast off all the seed of Israel
For all that they have done, says the Lord.

Jerusalem is God’s holy city. The Messiah, when He returns, will reign from there. He will bring Jerusalem and all Israel back to Himself and establish His Name in their midst for all nations to see. When I was in Jerusalem during the 2011 Feast of Tabernacles, I had the chance to climb up the Mount of Olives where the Lord Jesus used to walk and minister with His disciples. On the spot where He taught His disciples to pray (the Lord’s Prayer as it is known), the Lord spoke to me as I was wondering why the Roman Catholic Church is in control of the Biblical sites. My heart was very heavy as I realized how difficult it was for the Jews to believe that He is their Messiah when in His Name they were killed in the most brutal ways. How badly He is misrepresented among His people!

I walked away from the crowd who were busy doing what normal tourists do, and went to the garden alone. I poured out the heaviness in my heart and the Lord came strongly in that moment. I heard Him in my spirit, “See, my land is divided. It has been fragmented to this day.”

While Jerusalem is not yet physically divided between the Jews and the Palestinians, and while we mostly think and pray only against physically dividing the land of Israel especially Jerusalem, God sees it as already divided. It has been spiritually divided. He is interested in not only keeping the land intact, but making Jerusalem, the manifestation of His Throne here on earth, spiritually united in Him.

That word sank deep into my heart that it remained in me for a long time. Even during my flight back to the Philippines, all I could think were those words. Hearing the song “Jerusalem of Gold” in this special way and letting me hear His lament as written above reminded me of this experience in Israel and the words He spoke to me that pierced my heart.

If you fear and honor God, if you truly love Him, may you take seriously His words about Israel, Jerusalem and the Jews if you have not done so yet.

Genesis 12:3

I will bless those who bless you,
And I will curse him who curses you;
And in you all the families of the earth shall be blessed.”

Zechariah 2:8

For thus says the Lord of hosts: “He sent Me after glory, to the nations which plunder you; for he who touches you touches the apple of His eyes.

May the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob bless and keep you!

Love in Yeshua HaMashiach,

Cynthia

=================================================================================

Related:

Blessing the Jewish People

7 thoughts on “From the Father’s Heart: Jerusalem, Jerusalem!

  1. May our awesome LORD and SAVIOUR bless you and keep you. Praise G-D for the great things HE is using you for and doing in your life. This really touches my heart because, though I am mostly Filipino, my ancestors from my mom’s father’s side are Jewish. And when I got saved, G-D has shown me how important it is to love the Jewish people especially as Christians to share and show them the love that JESUS has for them. I’ve only been saved for a year or so when I was 15, so reading your encounters with YESHUA JESUS and seeing how close you are with G-D is really inspiring and encouraging. I will continue to follow your posts. I will keep you in my prayers that G-D will continue to use you greatly, that your faith will be strengthened more and more, and that HE will always protect you from the enemy. Take care always, and G-D bless!

    • Hi Faith,

      Thank you for such an inspiring comment. Praise God that you have come to know Him and that you understand His heart for Israel. Your story is very encouraging and I am praying that you will also be used of the Lord to reach out to your Jewish relatives for Yeshua. Thank you also for the support of this ministry and for the prayers. They are invaluable and I give all honor and glory.

      Blessings,

      Cynthia

  2. Pingback: From the Father’s Heart: Jerusalem, Jerusalem! | thefloridianguy.com | Independent Christian News & Views

Leave a Reply

