A Message for Manny Pacquiao and the Filipinos: Defeat is the Way to Victory!

After writing this article yesterday, I considered putting off publishing it as I thought it might not really be necessary. But as I saw the news last night and after hearing my mother’s account of what transpired in school where she’s a professor, and the children’s own account of what was happening in their own school, I realized that the Lord’s message which He gave me the other night would have to go out.

The other night in the aftermath of Manny Pacquiao’s bout with Juan Manuel Marquez, the Lord gave me a message confirming what I have suspected as the reason for the great Filipino boxer’s defeat.

I was already drifting to sleep just after I prayed when the Lord stirred me awake as I heard “Manny Pacquiao” and spontaneously saw the end of the fight earlier in the day. Before I could even process the thought I began to hear an old song in my native dialect which I could only remember as one from the 70’s. As soon as I heard the song, I quickly forgot it but remembered the name of the artist. Tried as I might to recall the song even as I am writing this, I could not. So I thought that the message was in the name of the artist. His name is Victor Wood. While I was pondering on the connection between Manny Pacquiao and the name Victor Wood, I saw my uncle and my husband quickly and had their names on my lips; my uncle is Suceso and my husband is Joseph. Then I heard in my spirit, “The message is in the names.” I wrote down the names and prayed and went to sleep. When I woke up in the morning I had this message in my heart:

Manny Pacquiao is a victor of something made of wood; his victories that made him an icon of success in this world were all made of wood and have no eternal value and won’t stand when tested with fire. His true success is not in the “boxing titles and belts” that he earned. True success will come by the way of the pit in the same manner that Joseph earned his. Worldly defeat is spiritual victory for him who loves God and is called for His purpose. Down at the feet of Jesus is the way up in the Kingdom of the Father of which he became a citizen when he made Him his Lord and Savior. As he chose to follow the Lord the great achievements he has earned now count for nothing in view of what the Lord has given him – eternal life. As he surrendered his life to the Lord Jesus he must take up his cross and go where the Shepherd leads him, do what the Master says he must do. He must decrease as the Lord Jesus Christ increases in his life.

1 Corinthians 3:12-15

12 Now if anyone builds on this foundation with gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, straw, 13 each one’s work will become clear; for the Day will declare it, because it will be revealed by fire; and the fire will test each one’s work, of what sort it is. 14 If anyone’s work which he has built on it endures, he will receive a reward. 15 If anyone’s work is burned, he will suffer loss; but he himself will be saved, yet so as through fire.

Luke 9:23-25 

23 Then He said to them all, “If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily,[a] and follow Me. 24 For whoever desires to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake will save it. 25 For what profit is it to a man if he gains the whole world, and is himself destroyed or lost?

Romans 8:28

28 And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.

Pacquiao congratulates Marquez, says he’ll be back next year

Manny Pacquiao’s defeat by knockout stunned the world especially the Philippines. Although the boxer graciously accepted his defeat, the Filipinos particularly the religious Roman Catholics, could hardly forget and let go. They were quick to condemn including his devout mother that his loss was due to his ”change of religion.” Wikipedia was also quick to update to include this story:

“Pacquiao was a devout Roman Catholic.[16] Within the ring, he frequently makes the sign of the cross and every time he comes back from a successful fight abroad, he attends a thanksgiving Mass in Minor Basilica of the Black Nazarene in Quiapo, Manila to kneel and pray. Following his defeat by Juan Manuel Márquez, his mother condemned him leaving the Catholic church. Pastor Jeric Soriano, Pacquiao’s spiritual adviser, comes from the Alabang New Life Christian Center in Muntinlupa. [17]” (See here).

The great boxer lost two games in a row this year, first with Timothy Bradley, then this match with Juan Manuel Marquez.

According to my father’s story, (he was attending my uncle’s birthday party during the fight) when Manny fell, one relative quickly commented that Manny’s defeat was bad karma because of his change of faith, from being a Roman Catholic to being ‘born-again.’ Another relative butted in that it isn’t right to leave the religion which we received from our ancestors. A news anchor said  that he observed that in Manny’s two latest fights he no longer said the rosary and didn’t do the sign of the cross and so that could be the reason for the defeat. This story continues that perhaps his defeat was because he displeased God for changing his religion. And as I mentioned above, my mother heard similar comments in school among students and teachers. They considered Manny Pacquiao as one deserving the loss as punishment for his leaving the Roman Catholic Church. My children and nephews came home from school with their own stories about the same comments among grade school kids and teachers. My son answered a comment on Facebook that it was the Lord’s will and not punishment because He has better plans for Manny who is now a ‘born-again Christian.’

I believe it is for this reason that the Father gave me the message above. As a former Roman Catholic myself and now a believer and disciple of the Lord Jesus Christ, I am convinced that it was the Father’s will that Manny would be defeated for His good reason and purpose, as it was also the Father’s will that he won all those victories making him the most awarded boxer ever.

Those who are watching Manny Pacquiao’s activities cannot fail to see that he is praying and worshiping, reading the Bible and sharing his faith. So, the connection made between his new faith and his boxing performances has valid ground. The interpretation, however, is not correct.

Manny Pacquiao didn’t find a new religion. What he found or what found Him is the reality of the Savior Jesus. What he received is not religion but the person, the Lord Jesus Christ who gave His life for the world that they who receive Him will have eternal life.

John 3:16-19

16 For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.

18 “He who believes in Him is not condemned; but he who does not believe is condemned already, because he has not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God. 19 And this is the condemnation, that the light has come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil.

Manny Pacquiao’s loss because he turned his life unto the Lord Jesus is not meant to harm him but to build him up inwardly; to mold him to make him fit for the Kingdom. His defeat in the Ring in the full view of the world is spiritual victory for the Lord Jesus Christ in Manny’s life. The way of success in God’s Kingdom is the way of the cross of the Messiah. The devil thought that he defeated the Lord Jesus when He was crucified only to be shocked when the great King rose from the dead and destroyed his stronghold in the lives of many including Manny Pacquiao, who received and put their trust in Him.  The Lord is breaking the great boxer through defeats in the thing that made him great, rich and famous in this world that he will be conformed into the likeness of his Savior and Lord to whom he gave his life. The brokenness is to make him great in God’s eyes that he will be fit for the higher call, higher task of being a witness for the Lord Jesus to the lost world. To be great in God’s Kingdom is to be nothing in and for this world.

Manny Pacquiao’s first defeat this year was against Timothy Bradley. Though the result could be gleaned as incidental as it was controversial, I believe that in the spiritual realm it was not; and the boxer’s reaction on the controversial result of his fight with Bradley was notable and highly commendable. The world saw the inner resolve which Manny Pacquiao demonstrated in spite of the adverse reaction of the crowd as the result was announced. In the same way he demonstrated such gentleness of attitude in the wake of his loss with Juan Manuel Marquez. This character that Manny Pacquiao has manifested stands as witness to the inner peace he has found in his  Savior and Lord Jesus Christ. He has actually given a powerful testimony to the world that he is not only a boxing champion who experienced defeat, but a real champion for the Lord for not becoming bitter and resentful over the loss of a worldly crown. Taken from the above news link, this is what Manny was quoted saying:

“First and foremost I would like to thank God for keeping Juan Manuel Marquez and me safe during our fight on Saturday night. I want to congratulate Juan Manuel. I have no excuses. It was a good fight and he deserved the victory. I think boxing fans who watched us were winners, too.

“To all my fans, I would like to thank you for your prayers and assure you that I am fine. I am looking forward to a nice rest and then I will be back to fight. On behalf of Jinkee and our family we would like to wish everyone a joyous Christmas and a happy and healthy new year.”

For Manny Pacquiao

You have stood the test though it was not easy. You must keep standing in spite of the fall and the negative rumors in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ, Yeshua HaMashiach.  You are one of those whom the Lord has chosen to arise in these last days to be a powerful witness for Him to bring many to the Kingdom. The Father may require you to lay down all your crowns for Him for the task that He has determined for you to do.  You must be ready and willing to give up the earthly crowns for the heavenly and eternal crowns which are far better than what you already have. Please note that your name Emmanuel is by no means an accident.

Jeremiah 29:11-12

11 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. 12 Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you.

Love in Yeshua,

Cynthia

Read also:

“They Will Arise Whom the Lord has Chosen…”

41 thoughts on “A Message for Manny Pacquiao and the Filipinos: Defeat is the Way to Victory!

  1. Sister I just want to comment about his fight. Last Sunday I asked GOD to forgive us all because we know that this is not from him it’s abomination to his name.And i know Manny already knew that it’s against from GOD. His job is not for GOD, he must choose just like an ordinary Human Being. If we loved GOD we leave behind just for him. During his fight I didn’t watch cuz I am busy serving GOD online while others busy watching him and making many words that are not appropriate to say. So many evil spirit tried and succeed to deceived all humans. I am alone in my room when he fought for Marquez and I talked to GOD sincerely saying ” Forgive us LORD cuz we do not know what we are doing” instead of repenting ,fasting and begging..we are driven by our desire to be tempted by Earthly position/ Earthly temptation and then suddenly i heard that he was fell down to the ground.He was knocked out heavily. Then when I heard that i stopped for a while and watch him how he fall. I was terrified of what i saw. I feel Mercy for him because of that..I don’t know how to explain it sister but I am happy for his lose….I’m not perfect.I do have a lot of sins in life but I am trying to be perfect just for him….lots of love

    • Hi Mercy,

      Thank you for sharing. I too was not watching because by nature I am not a sports-minded person though I could hear faintly the fight as our TV was on. It was my husband who first informed us that Manny was knocked out, via text message. Our telecast was delayed for about an hour. My mother who also isn’t a boxing fan watched because of my husband’s news. I was in my bedroom praying when she came to tell me it was true, MP was knocked out unexpectedly and decisively. I saw the replay of that part later.

      Manny is still a young believer though he is obviously making progress. The status he earned is not something small that he could easily give up. I believe that the Lord is speaking to him to relinquish it voluntarily for Him. When he was defeated controversially by Bradley I already thought that the Lord was sending him a message. Now this decisive knockout must have given him a stronger message. My prayer is that the spiritual advisers around him would give him God-directed advice and guidance into his next move. This is not going to be easy for Manny and his family. He will be persecuted and condemned but it is understandable in view of the Word of the Lord; that we will all be persecuted as He was, if we follow Him. But following Him is all we need to do to survive in these last days and go to eternity with Him.

      I would like to reiterate, however, that Manny Pacquiao demonstrated a gentleness of heart in spite of the fall, and that was admirable and commendable. It’s a powerful testimony of a transformed heart and I am certain that the Lord was pleased with his attitude.

      Shalom,
      Cynthia

    • My message to our fallen hero is a passage from the Holy Bible….
      “No one can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and Money. (Matthew 6:24)
      If Manny truly considers himself a “real Christian”, he should stop his boxing career and serve God. He KNOWS that in boxing, all forms of EVIL come with it. (gambling, betting, drinking, corruption of the mind, fans fighting and hating the other fan camp etc..) Manny CANNOT DENY that boxing is the LOVE FOR THE MONEY disguised as a good sport. He KNOWS that he is leading the people “in the pit of death” when he is in boxing.
      That KNOCKOUT by Marquez must be a STRONG MESSAGE on Manny, (Serve God or serve Money.)

  2. I am not going to comment on the fight per say. However, I believe that fighting such as this which is entertainment is of the world. It should not be for a born again to fight another human being like this. I pray he learns what Yah/God is trying to show him. GET OUT OF THE RING and be worthy to stand before me. Yahushua/Jesus is victory. May this man stop fighting all together and come out of the world. Amen.

    • Hi Cassie,

      Thank you for your comment. Let’s pray that Manny Pacquiao will hear from the Lord clearly about this thing. I am sure his boxing career has been a blessing from the Father who foreknew that he would eventually accept the Lord Jesus Christ in his life. Let us pray that he will freely give it up as it was also freely given to him for a season and certainly for a reason.

      Blessings,
      Cynthia

  3. I have a Son whom the Lord is showing me (and leading me to prayer fervently over) is being asked to “chose this day whom you will serve” about affiliations and rewards “promised” to him through Masonic associations. Like this boxer, like all who are as the camel with difficulty getting through the eye-of-the-needle, he is an extremely bright, talented, and capable young man who has left younger years of using his talents for his first love, Jesus, for every lust of the flesh that his rebellious father could set before him, and is now about to get married and further an illustrious military career… and I believe God wants to bring revival into the wedding – which is taking place in a church in which Masons have a stronghold and in which many members of that church sit in seats of power in a very corrupt and dark county/town government because this church has allowed prominent (rich) members to continue in known sin without exercising biblical discipline. The Lord wants my Son to get fit for His kingdom and sent back to military training as a light for the Lord Jesus Christ, not a false prophet of the Illuminati. Brothers and sisters in Christ, we know we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities and powers and authorities seated in high places. Please pray in agreement with me that heaven will be rent on Dec 31 into that church/wedding. I have been given dreams and visions of both purifying fire coming down and of the waters from the Throne of God, as in Ezekial and in Revelation, flowing from the baptismal in that church and annointing the officiating pastor with burning words which he will not be able to contain, and the fresh water touching the brackish and all that receives it coming to life. I also see the unrepentant being washed out of the church, and out of their positions of power in the courts, schools, city and county govt. and prominent places of business, and the cows of Bashan – the prominent gossipmongering women – as well as the young harlots who leave their neglected children to follow after their fornications – will have their wretched nakedness exposed and be called by the Lord to obtain His clothing – the message to the church of Laodiciea. I have now also seen two visions of the nature of the enemy’s attack on me between now and the wedding date – as he has attacked me for seven years now in this town. Please stand with me against false allegations, mocking, scoffing, bullying, gossiping, – especially by Facebook (as the vision of this attack indicated it would come “in the streets”); and, that my “lifeblood” of encouragement, boldness,and joy of the Lord, as I continue to be alienated and shunned by my other children for chosing Christ – who will certainly intend to do so at this wedding, but that by prayer, what they intend for evil – will not be drained out of me by the holiday “blues” of being separated from them these weeks before the wedding – God will work for good, that the weapons formed against my emotional-soulical wellbeing will not prosper in that which they have been intended.

    This post about Manny encouraged me today. What a glorious day when we come to realize that the only prize worth living or fighting for is the Lord Jesus Christ! Maranatha!

    • Hi Debra,

      Thank you for sharing this powerful testimony; and praise God that you are encouraged by this post.

      When we choose to follow Yeshua our Messiah, we really are faced with challenges and persecutions even from within the family circle. It is honestly not easy to be rejected and scorned by those close to us as we yield to Christ. But that is the cost of wanting to be like Him and obeying Him in every way through the very narrow gate. Yet the joy of doing it knowing that the Father is pleased; knowing that we have found the treasure that nothing in this world can compare is more than enough reason for us to keep going and pursuing Him till we see Him face to face.

      I have prayed for you and will continue to do so. I will stand with you in prayer for the upcoming wedding on Dec. 31.

      Shalom,
      Cynthia

    • I also stand with you in prayer over this matter.

      The demons associated with masons are strong, and tend to follow within family lines. BUT THEY ARE STILL NO MATCH FOR JESUS CHRIST!

      May the Lord grant you your petition, and send HIS light into their lives!

    • Sister Deborah,
      Such powerful words. I agree with you and pray in agreement with you. I have the same knowing if you will as you. Please visit my blog. lemirecassiedaughterofgod.blogspot.com
      We must pray for all leaders of the world that Yah/God has put into place so HIS plan is carried out. We know we are the creation and HIS will be done in ALL things. Amen!
      I was told by the Holy Spirit, HEARTS ARE WAXING COLD AND DIVISION IS GREAT we are seeing this all over. VICTORY IS HIS!! Please contact me as I would love to hear more about the date 31st of DEC.
      InHIS name,
      Cassie

  4. I believe that he lost because he lost his devotion to the Blessed Virgin Mary… The Woman who has the initiative and love to mediate men to God and urges everyone to “do whatever He tells you”.

    • Hi po co,

      I appreciate your honest opinion but I am sorry to inform you that Mary is not the mediator between God and man but Jesus Christ alone.This is clearly stated in the Holy Bible in 1 Timothy 2:5-6 which says:

      5 For there is one God and one mediator between God and mankind, the man Christ Jesus, 6 who gave himself as a ransom for all people. This has now been witnessed to at the proper time.

      Please note also that Mary’s being a virgin was only at the conception of the Messiah being the work of the Holy Spirit, not all her lifetime, for she had other children with her husband Joseph. It thus follows that she died not a virgin but a mother of several children. This is recorded in the New Testament if you read the Gospel. True, she was called ‘blessed’ because she was chosen for the unique role of bearing and rearing the Son Jesus who is both man and God, but never had she become like God and never had God made her a mediator between HIm and mankind. The Lord Jesus Christ calls everyone to come to Him for He is the only way to the Father. He didn’t say go to Mary so she can plead to me in your behalf. That is not Biblical. Please note what Jesus Christ says in the following Scriptures:

      Matthew 11:27-30

      27 “All things have been committed to me by my Father. No one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and those to whom the Son chooses to reveal him.

      28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

      He says He is gentle in heart, thus, we don’t need someone to plead to Him to receive us or forgive us for He receives and forgives us when we come to Him directly.

      ;and John 14:6

      Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

      In Matthew 12:46-50 you can see what the Lord Jesus said of His earthly mother Mary and His brothers:

      46 While Jesus was still talking to the crowd, his mother and brothers stood outside, wanting to speak to him. 47 Someone told him, “Your mother and brothers are standing outside, wanting to speak to you.”

      48 He replied to him, “Who is my mother, and who are my brothers?” 49 Pointing to his disciples, he said, “Here are my mother and my brothers. 50 For whoever does the will of my Father in heaven is my brother and sister and mother.”

      Devotion to and worship of Mary is idolatry, as worship of saints are. We are commanded in the Bible to worship only God; and those who worship Him must worship in Spirit and truth.

      Exodus 20:2-6
      1 And God spoke all these words:
      2 “I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of Egypt, out of the land of slavery.
      3 “You shall have no other gods before me.
      4 “You shall not make for yourself an image in the form of anything in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the waters below. 5 You shall not bow down to them or worship them; for I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, punishing the children for the sin of the parents to the third and fourth generation of those who hate me, 6 but showing love to a thousand generations of those who love me and keep my commandments.

      John 4:23-24
      23 Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in the Spirit and in truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks. 24 God is spirit, and his worshipers must worship in the Spirit and in truth.”

      The way to know the truth is to receive the Lord Jesus Christ who is the WAY and the TRUTH and the LIFE; and to trust in the finished work which He did on the cross to redeem mankind from the power of sin and death. Salvation is found in no one else. We don’t need any other mediator and Savior for there is only one name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved.

      Acts 4:11-12
      11 Jesus is “‘the stone you builders rejected,
      which has become the cornerstone.’
      12 Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved.”

      (All verses quoted are in NIV from Bible Gateway: http://www.biblegateway.com)

      I pray that the Holy Spirit will open your eyes to see and ears to hear the truth.

      Be blessed in Christ Jesus,
      Cynthia

    • po co

      The Apostle John, after the angel showed him what would take place at the end of the age, fell down and worshiped at the feet of the angel. The angel told him not to do it for he was a fellowservant but to worship God.

      Revelation 22:8-9

      8 And I John saw these things, and heard them. And when I had heard and seen, I fell down to worship before the feet of the angel which shewed me these things.

      9 Then saith he unto me, See thou do it not: for I am thy fellowservant, and of thy brethren the prophets, and of them which keep the sayings of this book: worship God.

      Don’t worship Mary. She is nothing more than a fellowservant. Worship God!

  5. Yep, I agree with you. But I agree with the teachiing of the Catholic Church that:
    1) Mary though only a creature, but it was appropriate that God be freely choose her as Mediatrix because he had made her Mother of Jesus, who is true God and true man.
    2) It was she who on behalf of the whole human race consented to God’s plan of salvation by proclaiming herself the handmaid of the Lord and on the cross Jesus gave her to us as our Mother.
    3) It was the decision of the Father. From eternity, He destined Mary as the Mother of Jesus. Her role was not necessary, since Christ was and is the perfect Redeemer and the perfect Mediator. Rather, Mary was associated with her Son by the free decision of the Father, a decision which we cannot just ignore.
    4) Her whole ability to do anything comes entirely from her Son.

    • Mary, the earthly mother of Jesus, can not and will not interceed on your behalf. Only Jesus can do that. God’s Word say that when one goes to heaven he/she rests from his/her labor and their works (on the earth) do follow them (Rev 14:13).

      Mary for sure prayed as she was led by the Holy Ghost in Jesus’ name while on the earth but once she went to heaven by a natural death (she was not ascended as the Catholics teach) she ceased from her labor.

      The teachings of the Catholic Church has made her into a god for which Jesus is under her authority. Jesus is under the authority of only His Father.

      Mary was not sinless as one of your Popes in the past claimed but was a sinner saved by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. She is no god nor does she have the attributes of God which the Catholic Church tries to convince you of.

      Listen to the Word of God. Cynthia showed you from the Word of God that Jesus and Jesus alone is our mediator between God and man.

      • Hi Pat,

        Thank you so much for sharing the truth. Truly it is my prayer that the eyes of my countrymen be opened to see that only JESUS CHRIST is the WAY, TRUTH and LIFE. It’s a lie and many are deceived that devotion to Mary and all other saints will help them find or get to God to answer their prayers. I pray that Filipinos will see that it is not complicated to get to the Father for there is only one Way and that is Jesus Christ. To acknowledge Jesus and receive Him as personal Lord and Savior is the way to find the truth. That is what Manny Pacquiao found in his life- the TRUTH.

        Po Co, once you receive Jesus and make Him Lord of your life, you will be free from religious and other bondage for according to John 8:36, “… if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.” Then you will begin to see the truth and distinguish the lie for which you have embraced for so long in your life. I was once in your shoes for I was born to a family of devout Roman Catholic until the Lord found us (me and my family) in 1981. I was not only a RC but a devotee of Mary like my mother, but since I gave my life to Jesus, the Lord Himself showed us how wrong such devotion was; and He gave us the grace and strength to give it up. Praise God, the punishment that everybody thought we deserved for leaving the wrong teachings did not happen. Instead, we are serving God with real peace and freedom. More than anything else, we know with certainty we have eternal life in Christ which is the very essence of His death on the cross. Please take note carefully the following Scriptures:

        John 3:16-18
        16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. 17 For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him. 18 Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe stands condemned already because they have not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son.

        Romans 6:23
        For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

        1 John 5:12
        Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have the Son of God does not have life.

        Ephesians 2:8-9
        8For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— 9 not by works, so that no one can boast.

        Eternal life is the gift of God through His Son Jesus Christ. May the Lord cause you to see this truth very clearly.

        Blessings,

        Cynthia

    • po co

      Prayer is labor/work and when Mary went to Heaven her labor and her work ceased (Rev 14:13).

      The Word of God makes it quite plain that the prayers of the saints are offered to God through an angel and not man or Mary.

      Revelation 8:3-4

      3 And another angel came and stood at the altar, having a golden censer; and there was given unto him much incense, that he should offer it with the prayers of all saints upon the golden altar which was before the throne.

      4 And the smoke of the incense, which came with the prayers of the saints, ascended up before God out of the angel’s hand.

      Rev 14:13

      13 And I heard a voice from heaven saying unto me, Write, Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord from henceforth: Yea, saith the Spirit, that they may rest from their labours; and their works do follow them.

    • po co

      When Jesus was praying to God the Father for those who knew Him and would come to know Him before He was to be crucified, He said

      John 17:17 – “Santify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.”There are many voices in the world.

      The Word of God establishes what truth is.

      There are many voices in the world. Some will say one thing, another person will say something entirely different, and yet another will offer a different opinion. Who knows who to listen to?

      You have to measure what you hear with the Word of God to know what truth is. If what you are taught does not align itself with the Word of God then it is false and is to be rejected.

      Every Church has some kind of false teaching. Do not blindly accept what your Church teaches. Measure what they say against the Word of God and reject what they say if it goes against the Word of God..

      God is going to judge you based on His Word and not on what your Church teaches you.

      Don’t fall for the lie that if you don’t accept what the Church claims to be truth that you will lose your salvation if you don’t repent. Your church does not stand in the place of God. They do not have the power to take away from you your salvation. The Pope is not God. He is a mere man, a sinner like you, and just as fallible.

      Don’t look to man for what the Word of God teaches but look to God.

    • the Catholic Church did not make her a goddess. The Catholic Church called her Mother of God. It is because she gave birth to Jesus whom Catholics believe to be true God and true man. His Godness and humanity cannot be separated since Mary did not give birth to a mere body but a person. And since we believe that Jesus is God, we call Mary as the Mother of God.

    • calling Mary as earthly mother of Jesus is not new. The Church declared it heretical. It is Nestorianism. And please spare me with your bible verses, for me to believe, it must first be authoritative. Even the devil who tempted Jesus quoted bible verses… And speaking of authority, I believe that all non-catholic bibles are generally plagiarized from the Church…

      • po co

        The teachings and practices of the RCC are not scriptural even though your Church tries to convince you that they are and has your salvation based on you giving mental assent to what they teach.

        Salvation does not come from giving mental assent to the teachings of a religious organization regardless of whether that religious organization is Catholic/Coptic or Protestant. It doesn’t come from someone else deciding for you to be saved. It doesn’t come from being born into christian family. It comes from God dealing with your heart that you are a sinner, in need of a Savior and that Savior is Jesus Christ. (John 1:12-13)

        God will use the Word of God to judge you on judgment day and not the teachings of your Church.

        Be like the Bereans and judge what you are taught by the Word of God (Acts 17:10-11) and reject what is not scriptural. If you don’t understand the Word of God then ask God, in the name of Jesus ((John 14:13), to help you understand the Bible. Jesus told His disciples that the Comforter, the Holy Ghost, will teach you all things (John 14:26), and guide you into all truth (John 16:13). [A disciple is anyone who is a follower of Christ. Luke 14] Don’t fall for the lie that you need some spiritual leader to interpret the Bible for you. That is not true, and is in direct opposition to what Jesus Himself taught/said.

      • It is understandable that you rely on scriptures. Without sacred scriptures, you have no foundation in your churches since your religion just sprung up like mushrooms. Catholics do not depend on scriptures alone. For me, sacred scriptures are proofs of authority. Apostles, disciples and prophets and people of authority wrote them since they are authorized from the sole Author who is God… And He even delegated such authority when Jesus commanded to make disciples to all nations, AND WHATEVER THEY BOUND HERE ON EARTH WOULD BE BOUND IN HEAVEN, AND WHATEVER THEY HELD LOOSE ON EARTH WOULD BE HELD LOOSE IN HEAVEN… So, who are you people to question that? Thus, the authority is not limited to what is written.. The authority is given by God to delegated people and to Peter and to his successors (the Pope)…

      • Mary can not be the mother of God. He IS the Alpha and Omega. To call her the mother of God is to declare the she was BEFORE God. Mary gave birth to Jesus, the Son of Man ( His own Words ). He suckled, cried, pooped His diapers. Jesus, the Son of Man, died on a cross. God cannot die. In John 20 Mary Magdalene could not touch the resurrected Jesus because He was unclean, He had not yet gone up to the Father and receive His full glorification.

        The Catholic church teaches that Mary was born holy and thus able to bear “god” but if that were so He would not have been able to bear the sins of man. Mary was the sinful man part of Jesus that had to be lifted to the cross and killed once and for all. That was Mary’s part, and as such why Jesus, on the cross, turned her over to John as his mother. Her job was done, finished, no afterlife intercession.

        I haven’t the foggiest who Nestorian is and the RCC calling it heretical is even more meaningless ( of course they would ). Mary was quite human and would have sex and children after Jesus was born. Or do you discount your own bible that says
        Matthew 1:25

        Douay-Rheims 1899 American Edition (DRA)

        25 And he knew her not till she brought forth her firstborn son: and he called his name JESUS.

  6. I, as a Catholic, also believe that faith without action is dead. A dead person is not a person. It is a cadaver. A dead faith is not faith at all. It must be accompanied by actions. Yes, salvation is a grace. And just because i am saved by grace does not mean that I cannot fell out of grace. I am still a free willed person. That is why I also do good works… Good works are not mere fruits of being saved. Good works makes faith alive… It animates faith. Thus, faith and good works accompany each other. Even St. Paul said that: “Otherwise, I fear that after preaching to others I myself might BE DISQUALIFIED (futuristic).” And so, I continually keep my faith strong and do good works, to ” work out (my) salvation with fear and trembling” Phil2:12.

    If I die today, will I be saved? I hope so. It is not for me to say that I am saved. “My conscience ( faith, hope and love) does not accuse me of anything, but that is not enough for me to set right with God: the Lord is the one who judges me.”

  7. On the idea dealing with thinking/relying/depending/raising up another to explain what is taught or meant in the scriptures and not ourselves 1st john 2:27 shows otherwise. This anointing we have, the Holy Spirit, is the same as the apostles and all others, one teacher…this same Holy Spirit will lead His into all truth(and written the Word is truth) and bring to our remembrance all that is said and teach us all things john 14:26, 16:13. More verses show all this, the practice, belief, in placing another above our own ..sitting at the feet of the Lord Jesus to learn ourselves, being taught ourselves by Him..is a dangerous practice. We check often with one another and there are those in authority but their placement and ability, hopefully came only from God and was never meant to replace a personal learning from and following the Lord Jesus ourselves.

    It’ll come down to what one will chose to believe and thus act on, knowing the Word ourselves(Jesus Christ is the Word made flesh and the word is Spirit and truth and life and alive and…) or placing a person between ourselves and the Lord as our guide and one who will explain the word etc. If the extra books and teachings of the church conflict with what is common in the bible..what should be done? do we follow the Word(Jesus Christ is the Word) or are we to follow men’s idea’s and additions to the Word, do we look to the Lord 1st, or men 1st? Can we know the Lord ourselves and what is true? what is the Word, and what is the Spirit, both are Truth, can we know and be taught of Him…are we alone responsible for our relationship with the Lord Jesus…lots of thoughts.

    I say this because I have a relative who will claim that we cannot know/understand the word ourselves and need some church leader to explain it to us..a very bad and dangerous practice/belief.

    ..the church leader knows the Truth..and because he’s set free..so am I? No, we shall know the Truth ourselves…we have the same anointing and the same Teacher and the same authority and the same right and the same power…some more some less for many reasons and often our own choices, but each will know and should know and can know the Truth themselves….receive the Word implanted..is that for others and not ourselves?

    • Hi Carson,

      I say ‘amen,’ each one can know the Truth from the Holy Spirit, after all our salvation is individual as our relationship with Him is also individual. Our accountability before the Father for how we treat His Son, the Christ and Savior of mankind is individual. We don’t seek the Truth from men but from Him alone for He alone has and is the Truth. Looking up to men and men-appointed church leaders and believing them more than the Lord Jesus Christ is sin- it is idolatry.

      Blessings,

      Cynthia

  8. Hi Cynthia,
    Back on subject, I understand that promoters are trying to put together a rematch. I would hope that it’s his managers and not Manny. Hopefully, he will use this time to lift up Christ as Eric Liddell did in the 1924 Olympics.

  9. Hi Dan, thank you for your input in the discussion. It is my earnest prayer that Po co will know the Truth in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ.

    I agree with you on Manny P. May the Lord be glorified in his life.

    Blessings,
    Cynthia

    • Thanks Cynthia. I also pray that you would know Jesus who is the Way the Truth and the Life. The more you know Him, the more you will love Him. As for me, I firmly believe in the Catholic Church – “the pillar and foundation of truth” [1 Tim. 3:15] and not on the unbiblical sola scriptura but on the Church’s Magisterium, Sacred Tradition and Bible. I believe in Her She exists even before the New Testament was written down and later on compiled as inspired scriptures on the Council of Carthage in 397 AD.

      • Hi Po co,

        I do know the Lord Jesus Christ; I and love Him more than anyone and anything that’s why it is only Him that I listen to and follow. It is impossible to know Him and love Him and yet follow teachings and doctrines which the Lord Jesus Himself never taught.

        Your word obviously reveals who you worship. It is not Jesus Christ but the Catholic Church, her leaders and her teachings. Again, my earnest prayer is for you to open your heart wide for Him and give Him the chance to show you the TRUTH.

        Love in Christ Jesus,

        Cynthia

      • Sister Cynthia I am writing this response to a comment left to you saying you do not know Jesus. I was called out of the Roman Catholic Church eight years ago. I attended church six days a week and served the church for many years. When I heard the still small voice say, “COME OUT IF HER” I did not know what this meant. I asked my Heavenly Father what does this mean? I heard next Revelation 18. I read the chapter and I KNEW that I was to leave ALL churches and religions. I would like to share with you some of the traditions of men I followed. I say man as it is not biblical therefore not of my Heavenly Father but man. The first commandment being the MOST important. LOVE THY GOD WITH ALL THAT YOU HAVE we cannot serve God and man. The second commandment DO NOT WORSHIP GRAVEN IMAGES. These are just the first two I was going against and it was shown blatantly to me. The rosary repetitive prayer which our Heavenly Father tells us NOT to do. It also is not biblical. Peter the hermit introduced the rosary in 1090. The papacy is pagan origin formed in 600 by the wicked emperor Phocas. Confession of sins was introduced to priest in 1215 by pope innocent the third. The list goes on and the tradition of man continued. These are lies. THERE IS BUT ONE WAY TO THE FATHER AND TVAT US THROUGH HIS SON. Please read Galatians 1:8 it speaks of another gospel and may they who preach it be accursed. I would go on and on about Mary and statues and mass BUT it ALL is said in the first three commands and throughout the bible. I will end with this. Believing in man will take you as far as man will take you. Believing in GOD as your true savior for true salvation will take you to heaven for ALL eternity. I had to repent sister for my sins against my HEAVENLY FATHER I was following the traditions of man taught through the ages which is a different gospel and I was not following the commands of my FATHER. So, whose authority are people submitted , mans or GOD’s? This question must be deeply searched within ones soul. Thank you JESUS for being my savior. Thank you Holy Spirit for revealing truth to me. Amen.

  10. I do believe that the Church is the Mystical Body of Christ. I worhip and serve Him in that body and that includes loving the least, the last and the lost… Still you people read the bible as if it is the pillar and foundation of truth… IT IS THE CHURCH… And authority to bind and loose even heaven is given to her… If you do not submit yourselves to the authority that Christ himself instituted, how then can you submit to God’s authority? That is why protestants themselves show that there is disunity among themselves as they create different sects/groups – a clear proof of the absence of Christ…

    • Po Co, you have a very distorted view of God, the Bible and the church. I cannot blame you for that is what you have learned from listening to the doctrines of the Roman Catholic Church. I do care for you as your soul is at stake and that is very precious to the Father. I am not preaching religion but the Gospel of Christ. Catholic or Protestant don’t matter. If they preach a gospel other than what the Holy Bible, the infallible word of God teaches, then that gospel is false. The Roman Catholic Church is not instituted by the Lord Jesus Christ, whether you accept it or not. Again, the key to understanding the things of God is the Lord Jesus Christ alone. Outside of Him you can never see the Truth as it is.

      I will continue to pray for you. You heard the message, you have the choice to ignore it or seek God earnestly about it. Don’t mind my word, mind what God is saying through the Holy Spirit. Put down all your notions about Him as you received from the church and just seek Him for who He really is. He is more than able to reveal Himself to you without the help of men, Church leaders or not.

      In His love,

      Cynthia

  11. It might help to use the true terms..the “bible” is actually the Word, the Word is Christ. The Word is Spirit and is life and the Spirit gives life..

    Seems there’s a core difference in what is believed the Word/bible to be. If the bible isn’t the Word, then yes it could be changed or ignored, not held to…and from there wouldn’t many wandering astrays come? So we have to go back to some basics and come to each’s own decision on what the bible is. The apostles and bible itself, never used the word term-bible, but always the word, or the Word, or the Word of God, word of Christ etc..that’s a funny thing itself..why did they seem to pay such respect, hold it to such high place that it was always the Word. The meaning is clear that it’s not ink on pages or good suggestions to live by or…but very much living and powerful and truth..even Christ said..and My Word abiding in you..how can something dead abide within someone? another place is said receive the Word engrafted/implanted..how can something on paper be engrafted within a person? the end of that verse is…which is able to save your souls. How can an inanimate thing..ink or whatever..save one”s soul?..unless the Word is Spirit, just as Christ said it is.

    johns gospel and elsewhere have many references to what the Word is..it is not “a bible” but Christ and Spirit, very much alive! ..being born again, not of corruptible seed but of incorruptible, by the Word of God, which lives and abides forever

    • Peace Bread,
      I wanted to comment on the comment you stated. Amen!! I pray more people see what Father has given you eyes to see. Many actually call the bible the mark of the beast. When we read the living word we not only see the words we feel the words moving within us. As we mature in the word we are shown more. Those claiming the bible to be the mark is because they are blinded to the life the word gives to us which is spirit. Thank you and amen to your comment.
      In HIS name,
      Cassie

  12. Boss Manny, kmusta kna grabe n ang kasikatan mo buong mundo sobrang sikat n sikat kana manny parang kelan lang marami ng nagdaang taon ang lumipas sana naalala mopa ako kung hindi man binabati kita ng maligayang tagumpay sayo manny, kung matatanda mopo noong tayoy makasama pa sa construction parehas pa tayong payat n payat noon kung naalala mopa yung COREA ZENETAKA kung saan tayo magkasama sa construction nagtrabaho tayo sa GENERAL TRIAS CAVITE tapos ang baraks natin sa malabon sana manny isama moko sa pag angat mo at tagumpay mo sa buhay ako hanggang ngayon namamsukan parin, eto nga pala ang number ko manny kung sakaling mabasa mo ang mensahe ko na to wla kasi akon paraan pano kita makita ng personal at makausap kasi di kana ordinaryong tao napaka sikat mona manny, dati ang corea zenetaka ang boss natin nyayon ikaw na ang boss ng mga boss,, eto manny ang number ko kung sakaling mabigyan moko ng panahon… sya pala may asawa narin ako manny magdadalawa n ang anak ko mag lilimang buwan na ang tyan ng misis ko problemado ako ngayon kung saa ako hahanap ng pang sesaryan ng misis ko..sana matolongan moko manny sa panganganak ng misis koi…eto ang number ko manny 09127858901. maraming salamat sayo manny mabuhay ka at god bless sa pamilya mo…..

Leave a Reply

